How We Doin’?

By Rady Ananda

Following the widespread banishment of all radical elements on a certain “progressive” website, which included yours truly, several of us started other sites.  Akin to AA thinking that asks, how do you start an AA meeting (“all it takes is a coffee pot and a resentment”), we did just that.

Hence, Coalition of the ObviousFood Freedom and, a month later, COTO Report were born.  My buddy, Patrick, runs the first site, and I run the last two. That’s only possible with a dedicated crew who keep the engines going with original essays, artwork, news tips, and shares on social media sites.

Though COTO doesn’t draw as many visitors as Food Freedom, it gives an outlet to radical thought.  Given the corporate-government’s propensity to censorship, more outlets are better than fewer, I figure.  Here are the stats since inception:

Food Freedom saw 201,442 visitors in July, its highest month yet.  COTO peaked in January at 80,293 visitors, and isn’t yet finished.

Food Freedom is growing quickly, since corpogov is upping its efforts to wipe out all natural foods, supplements and small to midsize farms.  No particular political bent is required to recognize our right to choose what foods we eat. Nor is one required to recognize the need to protect our food supply from nefarious corpogov forces.

The three prior times that FF saw more visitors than the site which banned us, we only beat it by a couple thousand.  In July, we beat it by 69,000:

As delighted as that makes me, you’d think I might be gracious. But, alas, I’m not above elbowing Rob’s ribs a little bit.  It must be nice on some level to have a single flavor of political thought repeating itself in an echo chamber, but it sure has to hurt when a national figure like Keith Olbermann tweets:

KeithOlbermann
Did you know there is a website called @ opednews that cuts, pastes and reposts your work without permission? I wonder if they have lawyers?

Ouch!  OEN even created a user name for him, though he never signed up at the site.  Double ouch!

The most surprising take-down request I’ve ever received was a short blog promoting this guy’s new book.  I was shocked!  Fearing he might lose a few dollars on the blog (he got paid by page views), he lost access to a site interested in his work, which might have generated book sales.  Penny wise and pound foolish.

The publishing house, Chelsea Green, is a bit more savvy.  They started sending me books for free, so I’d review them.  What a boon for all of us – the publisher, the author, me and my readers.  Since then, I’ve now got a stack of books from several sources (I promise, the reviews are coming).

My favorites so far are David Gumpert’s Raw Milk Revolution (my review) and Sepp Holzer’s Permaculture.  I appreciated Simon Fairlee’s Meat: A Benign Extravagance, but I have to admit it was a little tough to chew through his statistical arguments.  In the end, he convinced me.  The last half of the book laying out his argument and conclusions sans stats was definitely worth the effort put into the first half.  Plus, he gets extra points for humor.  (My review of both Permaculture and Meat.)

Meanwhile, I’m learning way more than I did in school.  Or maybe it just seems that way because of the focus.  Not only books and films – I am informed by many of the folks who comment.

Much thanks to all the contributors, news-tip emailers, folks who cite us on Facebook and other social media sites, and to all those major sites that link to us, including Activist Post, Rense, David Icke, Republic Broadcasting, Progressive Mind, Kathy’s News, and BlackListed News.

A special hat tip to WordPress.com for hosting us and for featuring Food Freedom on its front page. That drew several hundred new subscribers.

As for that old site, here’s a graph that captures it all:

Who says statistics are confusing?

If you like what we’re doing at Food Freedom and/or COTO Report, we could use donations.

17 responses to “How We Doin’?

  1. LOL! FF and the Cotos are welcoming, informative sites- much different from the old OEN Selfpromoter-posing-as-Progressive. It’s amazing any of the crew lasted as long as we did there. You’re doing a great job Rady, keep it up! A gloat now and then is well deserved.

  2. Funny! I figured Coto would be the big draw. Shows what I know.

  3. I love it, I’m addicted to it. You guys are usually the first on things and the articles and commentary is brilliant. You forgot to mention “thecrowhouse.com, that’s how I discovered you

  4. I heart youse guys, both FF and Coto…keep on thinking!

  5. thx, willy.

    I actually considered asking Patrick for his numbers, but did not want to be perceived as competing WITH him. So, I thought a hat tip in the 2nd paragraph would suffice.

  6. coto2’s ticker is at the bottom of every page, in the center, which right now reads 870,563 hits.

    ff’s ticker is at the bottom of the 2nd column, which right now reads 1,699,916 hits

  7. I love COTO. My experience is that few sites are free speech when speech conflicts with ideological positions. I used to post on small forums but when Obama came on the scene and I dissed him as being a corporate whore-using the Black Commentator as my base-I wuz banned for being a Premature Anti-Fascist. Americans are funny like that.

    Now as an aside this little post below explains a great deal:
    Study shows powerful corporations really do control the world’s finances.

    http://www.physorg.com/news/2011-08-powerful-corporations-world.html

    More information: The network of global corporate control, Stefania Vitali, James B. Glattfelder, Stefano Battiston, arXiv:1107.5728v1 [q-fin.GN] http://arxiv.org/abs/1107.5728

    Abstract
    The structure of the control network of transnational corporations affects global market competition and financial stability. So far, only small national samples were studied and there was no appropriate methodology to assess control globally. We present the first investigation of the architecture of the international ownership network, along with the computation of the control held by each global player. We find that transnational corporations form a giant bow-tie structure and that a large portion of control flows to a small tightly-knit core of financial institutions. This core can be seen as an economic “super-entity” that raises new important issues both for researchers and policy makers.

  8. Megan 'Verb' Kargher

    i was so chuffed that you invited me to be a part of the coto report
    and i am happy to say all the coto films have continued to get lots of hits both from here and from all over
    here are some of the numbers on the coto films from my you tube page
    Vox Populi, Methods of Manipulation has had now in two only months and eight days over 25,000 views on various formats but mainly on youtube
    i want to thank everyone who has reposted it
    the coto report interview i did of freeman is also at almost 20,000 views and the coto david icke interview is just under 17,000
    all the films together have over 230,000
    the word is spreading and as minds open coto will grow further

    i love food freedom Rady keep up the good work
    thanks to all of the folks involved

    • I’m chuffed to have you. 😉

      That is so fantastic about your page views, Megan!

      Tho not as spectacular, here are your film stats in this neck of the internet woods:

      Vox Populi, Methods of Manipulation – 404 total views
      This Ain’t Oz an Interview with Freeman – 118
      Interview with Ben Stewart – 59
      Interview with Charlie Veitch – 115
      David Icke on Human Race Get off Your Knees – 145
      Interview with Jordan Maxwell – 260
      Interview with David Icke – 977
      Interview with Maxwell Igan – 111

      But this extract got a lot of attention at Food Freedom:

      Methods of Manipulation: Food and Medicine – 460

      • Megan 'Verb' Kargher

        is cool to see the count on coto
        what i am hoping is that the films which get reposted all over will bring more folks in to see the other important information here on coto report
        by the way i have entered vox pop in a few diff film festivals so keep you fingers crossed for me please

  9. I see “Official Selection” in your future

  10. This os the only contact I can find, so-
    As crazy as it sounds, I am trying to start a social movement around a country-rock protest song called “My Country My Ass.”. It involves people- lots of people- using the 600 links on my website to request the song on the radio. I call it “using mass media and pop culture to affect the national psychology.” The song has been played on a few stations. There is alot of overlap in our interests. Maybe you could feature the project.

Leave a Reply

